Quote

In Fidel, We Trust

[On infidelity]
…once you do it, it’ll be hard to stop especially when you find out how easy it is to do (from Will Grayson, Will Grayson). There will always be someone better but that does not warrant forever like the one who you allowed and chose to stick with you. And if winds change then you love someone else more, be strong to end your current relationship because no one deserves to be a fool. (Rebadulla, 2013)

There’s something about commitment and monogamy. The thought of spending the remaining years of your life devoted to that Significant Other may be comforting to some, but in its entirety, it’s actually scary and suffocating. No matter how you love that person, you will eventually get exhausted of seeing his face, of engaging him with small talk and of the mere thought of being with him. Altogether, these budding pet peeves morph the fairy tale you once lovingly believed into an ugly reality.

Don’t take it from me. I’m a hypocrite and a cynic. Theoretically, I’d want the gesture. But when it’s right in front of me, I run away with my tail in between my legs, always scared of the follow-up.

What’s next after this, you ask? I don’t know. And I don’t want to find out.

Leave a Reply

